Are there any special laws regarding uninsured drivers involved in car accidents in maryland?

All Maryland car insurance policies are required to provide protection in the event of an accident caused by an uninsured driver. Regardless of the type of case you want to file, you should always consider the statute of limitations. If you don't meet this critical deadline, you'll never be able to file your case. Read on to learn more about the crucial deadlines for car accidents in Maryland and how you can ensure that you file your case at the right time. The statute of limitations in most Maryland car accident cases is 3 years from the date of the accident.

However, there are some exceptions to this rule. For example, if a child was injured in a car accident as a minor, their 3-year period begins on the day they turn 18 and not on the day of the accident. Filing before these deadlines is a crucial element in determining who pays medical bills in a car accident. There are additional deadlines for car accidents in Maryland related to PIP (personal injury protection) claims.

Unless you specifically waive PIP coverage, it will be included in your own existing insurance policy. This coverage is intended to pay for a specific amount of medical bills and lost wages, regardless of who caused the accident. In reality, adding this coverage to your policy is often affordable, especially considering the protection it offers against potentially massive out-of-pocket expenses. For car accident cases filed against a governmental or quasi-governmental entity, there are separate and distinct time frames under the Local or State Tort Claims Act.

When an accident occurs and the at-fault driver is uninsured, the insurance company of the injured party or the non-at-fault party can cover the damages through an uninsured motorist policy or through collision coverage. Underinsured motorist (UIM) coverage provides protection when the at-fault party that caused the accident has liability insurance, but not enough to cover the full amount of your damages, including your medical bills, property damage, pain and suffering caused by a car accident in Maryland. With coverage for uninsured drivers (UM), people can receive compensation for pain and suffering, in addition to other economic damages, such as medical expenses and loss of wages. This deadline for Maryland car accidents requires you to officially notify the government entity in a very specific manner.

Maryland legislation enacted this so that large insurance companies are the ones to bear the burden of uninsured drivers' claims, and not innocent victims. Unlike the states of Oklahoma and California, Maryland doesn't have a law that prohibits insurance companies from raising premiums after filing a claim for uninsured or underinsured drivers. Uninsured motorist coverage is a specific type of insurance protection that covers you, the policyholder, in the event of an accident with a driver who doesn't have insurance civil liability. Motor vehicle insurance policy limits are the maximum amounts an insurance provider will pay to cover damages resulting from a car accident.

This is where the experience of a car accident attorney, especially from an accredited firm such as Regan Zambri Long PLLC, is of incalculable value.